Research Awards

Donald H. Buchholz Research Prize

The Peter Jatlow Research Award, formerly the Donald H. Buchholz Research Prize, is awarded annually to a resident in the Department of Laboratory Medicine. The prize is in honor of Dr. Peter Jatlow, former Chair of the department.  The objective of the award is to recognize innovative and/or significant research accomplishments by residents performed during their two years in the CP residency program. The award includes $500 and a certificate that will be presented at the graduation ceremony. This award replaces the Donald H. Buchholz Research prize which was last awarded in 2012 to Dr. Roa Harb. 2013 was the first year of the Peter Jatlow Research Award and two were presented; one to Dr. Susan Fink and the other to Dr. Alexander Ryder. 

Recipients of The Peter Jatlow Research Award
2013Alex Ryder, MDVesicular Stomatitis virus vectored hybrid hemagglutinin constructs as broadly cross-reactive influenza vaccines.
2013Susan Fink, MD, PhD

Unfolding Mechanisms of Antiviral Defense: Regulation of viral Replication by Xbp1

Past Recipients of The Donald H. Buchholz Research Prize
2012Roa HarbIn vivo Imaging of Cerebral Miscrovascular Plasticity
2011Alexa J. Siddon   Quantitating Cyclin D1 Expression has a Prognostic Value in Mantle Cell Lymphoma Patients
2010David R. PeaperEnhanced evaluation of bacterial isolates from the urine of patients with spinal cord disorders
2009Barton Kenney
A developing interest in the Immune Mechanisms Underlying Drug-induced Thrombocytopenia
2008Stephanie C. EisenbarthCrucial role for the Nalp3 inflammasome in the immunostimulatory properties of aluminum adjuvants
2007Christopher A. TormeyClinical Blood Bank Research: Three Initiatives
2006Jonathan R. GenzenAnalysis of Zinc Protoporphyrin (ZPP) testing in a low-income primary care and lead clinic
2005Tore EidWater and Potassium Homeostasis in the Brain: Loss of Perivascular Aquaporin 4 in Temporal Lobe Epilepsy