Lab Members

Bio Profile

Akiko Iwasaki, PhD

Director

Waldemar Von Zedtwitz Professor of Immunobiology and Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology

Professor of Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology

Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Research Interests

  • Autophagy
  • Herpes Simplex
  • Immune System
  • Immunity, Cellular
  • Immunity, Innate
  • Influenza, Human
  • Molecular Biology
  • Sexually Transmitted Diseases
  • Inflammasomes

Akiko Iwasaki received her Ph.D. from the University of Toronto (Canada) in 1998, and her postdoctoral training from the National Institutes of Health (USA) (1998-2000). She joined Yale University (USA) as a faculty in 2000, and currently is an Investigator of the HHMI and a Professor of Department of Immunobiology and Department of Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology. Akiko Iwasaki’s research focuses on the mechanisms of immune defense against viruses at the mucosal surfaces. Her...

View Full Profile

Associate Research Scientists

Bio Profile

Manabu Taura, PhD

Associate Research Scientist in Immunobiology

View Full Profile

Postdocs

Bio Profile

Ellen F Foxman, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor

Research Interests

Allergy and Immunology; Asthma; Biology; Cell Biology; Common Cold; Diagnostic Techniques, Respiratory System; Environmental Health; Epigenomics; Epithelial Cells; Histology; Immune System; Immunity, Innate; Immunity, Mucosal; Infectious Disease Medicine; Interferons; Microbiology; Pathology; Respiratory Mucosa; Respiratory System; Rhinovirus; RNA Virus Infections; RNA Viruses; Transcriptome; Translational Medical Research; Virology; Viruses, Unclassified

Dr. Foxman's research interest is understanding the natural mechanisms that protect the airway from respiratory viruses. Recent evidence shows that respiratory viruses enter the airway much more frequently than they cause illness. Current projects focus on (1) identifying the antiviral defense mechanisms of the airway epithelium, (2) understanding how the environment influences antiviral defense and tips the balance between health and disease upon exposure to a virus, and (3) using biomarkers...

View Full Profile

Bio Profile

Smita Gopinath, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow in Immunobiology

View Full Profile

Bio Profile

Myoungjoo Kim

Postdoctoral Associate in Immunobiology

View Full Profile

Bio Profile

Maria Tokuyama, PhD

Postdoctoral Associate in Immunobiology

View Full Profile

Lab Manager

Lab Technician

Former Lab Members

Audry Chan  Takeshi Ichinohe, Ph.D. 
M.P.H. student 2000-2002  Postdoctoral fellow 2007-2010 
audrey.chan@yale.edu ichinohe@ims.u-tokyo.ac.jp
   
Gladys Ng  Heung Kyu Lee 
M.P.H. student 2001-2003  Immunology Ph.D. Candidate 2005-2009 
ngg@mail.amc.edu heungkyu.lee@kaist.ac.kr
   
Xinyan Zhao, Ph.D.  Melodie Zamora 
Postdoc 2000-2003  Research Assistant2005-2008
xinyan_zhao@yahoo.com melodie.zamora@yale.edu
   
Kelly Soderberg, Ph.D.  Charron Cote
Graduate Student 2001-2005  Administrative Assistant 2006-2011 
kelly_soderberg@yahoo.com  
   
Ayuko Sato, Ph.D.  Michal Tal 
Postdoc 2002-2006  Graduate Student 2007-2012 
ayukosato@hotmail.com mikstars@gmail.com
   
Jennifer Lund, Ph.D.  Brian Yordy 
Graduate Student 2002-2006  Graduate Student 2007-2012 
jmlund@u.washington.edu Brian.yordy@yale.edu
   
Hong Shen, Ph.D.  Lisa Mattei 
Postdoc 2005-2006  Graduate Student 2007-2012 
hs24@u.washington.edu Lisa.mattei@yale.edu
   
Balaji Ramanathan, Ph.D.  Iris Pang 
Postdoc 2006  Graduate Student 2009-2012 
balaji@upei.ca iris.pang@yale.edu
   
Yusuke Nakanishi, Ph.D.  Miwa Sasai 
Postdoctoral fellow 2006-2009  Postdoctoral fellow 2007-2012 
y-naka.bre@mri.tmd.ac.jp m-sasai@biken.osaka-u.ac.jp
   
Kayo Sagawa, Ph.D.  Joseph M. Thompson, Ph.D. 
Postdoctoral Associate 2006-2009 Postdoctoral Associate 2007-2009
kayo.sagawa@yale.edu joseph.thompson@yale.edu
   
James Storer Susan Fink, MD, PhD
Graduate Student 2012-2013 Postdoctoral fellow 2012-2016
storera21@gmail.com susan.fink@yale.edu
   
William Khoury-Hanold Padmini Pillai
Graduate Student 2011-2016 Graduate student 2011-2016
william.khoury-hanold@yale.edu padmini.pillai@yale.edu