Mark David Siegel MD

Professor of Medicine (Pulmonary); Co-Chair, Ethics Committee, Yale-New Haven Hospital; Program Director, Traditional Internal Medicine Residency

Biographical Info

Dr. Siegel graduated from the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons in 1988 and completed his residency in Internal Medicine at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in 1991. He was a Pulmonary & Critical Care fellow at Yale from 1992-95 and has been a full time Yale faculty member since then. Dr. Siegel is Board Certified in Internal Medicine, Pulmonary Medicine, and Critical Care Medicine. He is the Director of Medical Critical Care at Yale-New Haven Hospital and the co-chair of the Hospital Bioethics committee. His major clinical focus is in the Intensive Care unit and he attends several months per year in the Medical and Neurosciences Intensive Care Units. Dr. Siegel serves on the Editorial Boards of Critical Care Medicine and the American Journal of Medicine. He is the recipient of several teaching awards and has participated in several multi-center trials investigating new therapies for the treatment of critical illness.

International Activity

  • Critical Care
    San Salvador, El Salvador(2009 - 2009)
    Visiting Professor
  • Critical Care
    Iran(2004 - 2004)
    Lecture Series, Pulmonary Conference

Education & Training

College of Physicians & Surgeons, Columbia Univ (1988)
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Internal Medicine (1988 - 1991)
Yale University School of Medicine, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine (1992 - 1995)
Board Certification
Critical Care Medicine (Internal Medicine), Board Certified  (1995)

Honors & Recognition

  • Howard M. Spiro Faculty Teaching Award
    Yale Medical School (1999)
  • Teacher-of-the-Year Award
    Department of Internal Medicine (2000)
  • Teacher-of-the-Year Award
    Department of Internal Medicine (2005)
  • Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award
    Yale University (2006)
  • Faculty Achievement Award, Clinical Care
    Department of Medicine (2007)
  • Teacher-of-the-Year Award
    Department of Internal Medicine (2010)

Professional Service

  • Co-Chair, Organ Donation Committee, Yale-New Haven Hospital (07/01/2008 - 07/31/2011)
  • Organ Donation Committee (Co-Chair since 2008), Yale-New Haven Hospital (07/01/1996 - 08/14/2011)
  • Member, American Thoracic Society (05/15/2009 - 08/14/2011)

Edit Profile