Simulation Fellowship


The Yale University Medical Simulation Fellowship in Emergency Medicine is a one-year fellowship offered to a qualified Emergency Medicine residency graduate. The primary focus of the fellowship will be on research. Dr. Evans, Director of Healthcare Simulation, who received an AHRQ funded grant in procedural simulation, will serve as research mentor and assist the fellow in developing his/her research interests. The fellow will attend a departmental course in research methods led by the Director of Research and a biostatistician.  The fellow will receive training in simulation curriculum development including scenario design, development of debriefing skills and exposure to procedural simulation training and education. We conduct the largest simulation program for undergraduate medical students.  All third year medical students participate in a mandatory 12 week course.  Fellows participate in all aspects of the medical student curriculum.  Under the guidance of Dr. Kelly Dodge, Co-Director of Healthcare Simulation, fellows will participate in resident simulation education including assessment based on the new Milestones evaluation tools and the use of simulation for resident remediation.  Fellows will also participate in our procedural simulation program under the leadership of Dr. James Bonz. Fellows will have the opportunity to learn simulation in our new state-of-the-art simulation center which is currently being built and should open in the spring of 2014.  Plans are underway for the opportunity for the simulation fellow to participate in an exchange program with the Yale-China program through Xiangya School of Medicine. The fellow will attend in the Yale-New Haven Medical Center Emergency Department.  The fellowship will support attendance at an instructor course in simulation and debriefing and participation in a university sponsored medical education course. 

Please submit a CV and letter of interest to the Director of Healthcare Simulation, Dr. Leigh Evans at  

Applications are due by November 1, 2013 and will be considered on a rolling basis.