Leadership in Biomedicine Lecture Series


The mission of Yale University School of Medicine is to educate and inspire scholars and future leaders who will advance the practice of medicine and the biomedical sciences. Yale students become scholars by engaging in an original research project and writing a thesis. How students are inspired to be become leaders, however, is less well-defined. One way is for students to hear the unique life stories of our distinguished faculty. What inspired them to choose their fields of interest? Who were their mentors and why did they select them? What were the challenges they faced and how did they deal with them? To provide students an opportunity to hear the stories of our academic leaders, the School of Medicine sponsors three lectures a year, each of which is followed by a dinner where students and the speaker informally discuss issues about mentoring and careers.

Upcoming Lecturers for 2014-2015, 4:30 pm, Hope 110 (315 Cedar Street) 

January 28, 2015 - George Heninger, M.D.  - Poster

Past Lecturers


  • James Anderson, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Jon Morrow, M.D., Ph.D.
  • George Miller, M.D.


  • Gerhardt Giebisch, M.D.
  • Margaret Hostetter, M.D.
  • Jordan Pober, M.D., Ph.D.


  • Sally Shaywitz, M.D.
  • Linda Bartoshuk, Ph.D.
  • Steven Waxman, M.D., Ph.D.


  • Joan Steitz, Ph.D.
  • Dennis Spencer, M.D.
  • Pasko Rakic, M.D., Ph.D.


  • H. Kim Bottomly , Ph.D.
  • Richard P. Lifton, M.D., Ph.D.
  • John Elefteriades, M.D.


  • James L. Boyer, M.D.
  • Steven C. Hebert, M.D.
  • James D. Jamieson, M.D., Ph.D.


  • Gerald Shulman, M.D., Ph.D.
  • George K. Aghajanian, M.D.
  • Robert J. Alpern, M.D.


  • Harlan Krumholz, M.D., S.M.
  • Peter Aronson, M.D.


  • Emile Boulpaep, M.D.
  • Lawrence Sorel Cohen, M.D. 


  • Stephen Malawista, M.D.
  • Gerald Friedland, M.D.
  • Susan Baserga, M.D., Ph.D.


  • John N. Forrest, Jr., M.D.
  • Richard L. Edelson, M.D.
  • Thomas J. Lynch, M.D.


  • Vincent T. DeVita, Jr., M.D. 
  • Vincent T. Marchesi, M.D., Ph.D. 
  • Diane Krause, M.D., Ph.D. 

2013 - 2014

  • John Krystal,  M.D. 
  • Fred Kantor,  M.D.
  • Michael Caplan, M.D., Ph.D.

2014 - 2015

  • Michael Kashgarian, M.D.