Dana Small, PhD

Professor of Psychiatry and Associate Professor of Psychology; Deputy Director and Fellow, The John B Pierce Laboratory

Departments & Organizations

Psychiatry: Center for Nicotine and Tobacco Use Research at Yale (CENTURY) | Connecticut Mental Health Center | Neuroscience Research Training Program (NRTP) | Stress & Addiction Clinical Research Program

Faculty Research

Interdepartmental Neuroscience Program

Obesity Research Working Group

Yale Combined Program in the Biological and Biomedical Sciences (BBS): Neuroscience: Behavioral and Systems; Drug Abuse; Neuroimaging; Sensory Systems

Office of Cooperative Research

Education & Training

PhD McGill University (2001)
MSc McGill University (1998)

Honors & Recognition

  • Alan Epstein Award for a seminal research contribution to the field of ingestive behavior. Awarded by the Society for the Study of Ingestive BehaviorSociety for the Study of Ingestive Behavior (2015)

  • Appointed to the National Academy of Sciences Board on Behavioral, Cognitive and Sensory Sciences (BBCSS)National Academy of Sciences (2015)

  • Ruth Pike Award for contributions to nutrition researchPenn State University (2010)

  • Firmenich Young Investigator Award for Research in Fragrance and Flavors, Firmenich (2007)

  • Invitee 18th Annual Kavli Frontiers of Science Symposium for Young InvestigatorsNational Academy of Sciences (2006)

  • Moskowitz-Jacobs Award for Research Excellence in the Psychophysics of Taste and Smell The Association for Chemoreception Sciences (2005)

  • Ajinomoto Young Investigator Award for Research in Gustation The Association for Chemoreception Sciences (2003)

  • Elected member of the International Neuropsychological SymposiumInternational Neuropsychological Symposium (2002)

Professional Service

  • The Obesity Society (2009) Study Section

  • Frontiers in Neuroscience (2009) Editorial

  • The Association for Chemoreception Sciences (2008) Executive Committee

  • European Journal of Neuroscience (2008) Editorial

  • Chemosensory Perception (2007) Editorial

  • MD/PhD Admissions Committee (2007) Admissions Committee

  • NIH/NIMH Special Panel Study Section (2007) Study Section

  • NIH Cognition and Perception Study Section (2004 - 2004) Study Section

  • National Science Foundation (2002) Study Section

Edit this profile