Leadership Giving

Uphold the Yale Tradition of Giving

Milton Winternitz

The Winternitz Society provides an opportunity for School of Medicine alumni to make annual leadership commitments to Yale and to the greater community as the School continues to educate the best and brightest future physicians. Its esteemed members enjoy exclusive benefits as well as the satisfaction of knowing that they are supporting the premier Yale System of Education training of future scholars and leaders in medicine and the biomedical sciences.

This society is named for Milton C. Winternitz, the legendary Dean whose educational vision led to the Yale System of Education, the non-competitive, collaborative teaching method that remains the hallmark of YSM. Other historic figures are celebrated though The Winternitz Society for their role in shaping the lives of students and for their leadership within the profession of medicine.

Our seven named levels of participation represent increasing levels of commitment to Yale School of Medicine and offer a range of opportunities to become involved with our annual giving program. All levels are recognized in our annual publication, the Honor Roll of Alumni Donors, and receive customized communications and invitations to exclusive events.

Nathan Smith Circle $50,000 and above
Paul Beeson Circle $25,000-$49,999
Dorothy M. Horstmann Circle $10,000-$24,999
Gustaf E. Lindskog Circle $5,000-$9,999
Cortlandt Van Rensselaer Creed Circle $2,500-$4,999
Thomas R. Forbes Circle $1,000-$2,499
Young Physician Circle (classes prior to their 5th reunion) $250-$999
*To read more about each of these historic figures, click here

If you have questions about the Alumni Fund or The Winternitz Society, please contact: