Association of Yale Alumni in Medicine (AYAM)

The Association of Yale Alumni in Medicine (AYAM) is comprised of all graduates from the Yale University School of Medicine, and those trained as interns, residents, and fellows in Yale’s postgraduate program. It serves as a link between the School of Medicine and its graduates and helps alumni stay in touch with Yale while providing opportunities for social interaction, networking and volunteer services.

With the exception of the Executive Committee, committee membership is open to any member of the alumni association. If you wish to participate in committee activities, please be in touch with us at or (203) 436-8551.

Committee Membership as of September 1, 2014

Executive Committee

The executive committee has primary responsibility for the activities and representing the interests of the alumni to the school and university. Elections are held each spring in conjunction with the Annual Meeting of the Association during reunion weekend.


President              Susan Ryu Gaynon, M.D. '76 of Palo Alto, CA
Vice President       Richard Kayne, M.D. '76 of Woodbridge, CT
Secretary             Harold R. Mancusi-Ungaro, Jr., M.D. '73 of Santa Rosa, CA
Past President       Christine A. Walsh, M.D. '73 of Douglaston, NY

At-Large Members

Philip W. Askenase, M.D. '65 of Hamden, CT
Jay M. Baraban, M.D. '80 of Baltimore, MD
Amita K. Bhatt, M.D. '87 of Wellesley, MA
Charles DiSabatino, M.D. HS ’75 of Hamden, CT
Shih-Yin Ho, M.D. '96 of New York, NY
Scott T. O. Kennedy, M.D. '08 of New York, NY
Philip W. Lebowitz, M.D. '72 of New York, NY
Amy Leibeskind, M.D. ’98 of New York, NY
Harlan Pinto, M.D. ’83 of Palo Alto, CA
Warren Widmann, M.D. ’61 of New York, NY

Delegates to the Association of Yale Alumni (AYA) 

Douglas A. Berv, M.D. '74 of Bethany, CT
Francis M. Lobo, M.D. '91 of New Haven, CT
Donald L. Kent, M.D. '72 of Tarpon Springs, FL
Lillian A. Oshva, M.D. '96 of New York, NY
Karl G. Wagner, PA-C '90 of New Hudson, MI
Anne A. Wolf, M.D. '92 of West Roxbury, MA

Ex Officio

Dean Robert J. Alpern, M.D.
Ensign Professor of Medicine, Dean of Medicine

Michael B. Tom, M.D. '83 of Greenwich, CT
Chair, Alumni Fund

Deborah Jagielow
Director, Alumni Affairs

Ex Officio Student Representatives 

Andi Shahu, MED ’17
President, Medical Student Council 

Tafadzwa (Taf) Chaunzwa, MED ’18
1st year liaison

Tambudzai (Tambu) Kudze, MED ’17
2nd year liaison  

James (Jim) Smithy, MED ’16
3rd year liaison  

Nour Kibbi, MED ’15
4th year liaison

Connie Cheng, MED ’16
5th year liaison

Alumni Communications Committee

The committee will review and explore new options for print and electronic communications, including broadcast emails, websites, and social media to our alumni.

Chair: Donald E. Moore, M.D. ’81
+ Amita K. Bhatt, M.D. ’87
Sharon A. Chekijian, M.D. ’00
+ Shih-Yin Ho, M.D. ’96
Michael Kashgarian, M.D. ‘58
+ Scott T. O. Kennedy, M.D ’08
Andi Shahu, MED '17
+ Warren Widmann, M.D. ’61 

+  = elected or ex officio member of the AYAM Executive Committee

AYA/University Collaborations Committee

The committee will help identify and foster cross-communication and collaboration with other alumni groups of the university including other professional schools

Co-Chair: + Christine A. Walsh, M.D. ’73 
Co-Chair: + Harold Mancusi-Ungaro, Jr. M.D. ’73

Carol J. Amick, M.D. ’59
Sharon L. Bonney, M.D. ’76
Fredric K. Cantor, M.D. ’62      
Rupali Gandhi, M.D. ’04
+ Donald L. Kent, M.D. ’72 
+ Francis M. Lobo, M.D. ’92
Jocelyn S. Malkin, M.D. ’52 
Laura Manuelidis, M.D. ’67 
Nicholas M. Passarelli, M.D. ’59
+ Karl G. Wagner, Jr., PA-C ‘90 

+  = elected or ex officio member of the AYAM Executive Committee

Alumni Fund Committee

The committee will explore ways to engage alumni and students in financially supporting the School of Medicine through annual gifts to the Alumni Fund.

Chair: + Michael B. Tom, M.D. ’83
Brittany G. Craiglow, M.D. ’09
Tafadzwa (Taf) Chaunzwa, MED ’18
Connie Cheng, MED '16
+ Philip W. Lebowitz, M.D. ’72
Robert W. Lyons, M.D. ’64
Mark L. Meyer, M.D. ’94
+ Lillian A. Oshva, M.D. ’96 

+  = elected or ex officio member of the AYAM Executive Committee

Student Engagement Committee

The committee will explore mentoring, connecting alumni speakers to student groups and informal residency interview hosting.

Co-Chair:  + Douglas A. Berv, M.D. ’74
Co-Chair:  + Richard D. Kayne, M.D. ’76

+ Philip W. Askenase, M.D. ’65
+ Jay M. Baraban, M.D. ’80
Harold D. Bornstein, Jr., M.D. ’53
Irwin M. Braverman, M.D. ’55
+ Charles DiSabatino, M.D. HS '75
+ Susan Ryu Gaynon, M.D. ’76
Tambudzai (Tambu) Kudze, MED ’17
+ Amy Liebeskind, M.D. ’98
+ Harlan Pinto, M.D. ’83
James (Jim) Smithy, MED ’16
+ Anne A. Wolf, M.D. ’92

+  = elected or ex officio member of the AYAM Executive Committee