YSM Leadership & Administration

The School of Medicine is led by Dean Robert J. Alpern, M.D., who reports to the president of the university. The dean is advised by deputy deans for academic and scientific affairs, clinical affairs, education, and finance and administration. Associate and assistant deans, along with the heads of departments, help oversee the large and complex enterprise that is the medical school, with 1,474 ladder faculty, 1,223 students and 3,404 staff employees.

YSM Leadership

Peter Salovey

A.B., M.A., Ph.D., President of the University

Benjamin Polak

B.A., M.A., Ph.D., Provost of the University

Robert Alpern

M.D., Dean of the School of Medicine

Paul Cleary

Ph.D., Dean of the School of Public Health

Cynthia Walker

M.B.A., CPA, Deputy Dean for Finance and Administration

Richard Belitsky

M.D., Deputy Dean for Education

Paul Taheri

M.D., M.B.A., Deputy Dean for Clinical Affairs and CEO, Yale Medical Group

Carolyn Slayman

Ph.D., Deputy Dean for Academic and Scientific Affairs

Linda Mayes

Special Adviser to the Dean

YSM Administration

Nancy Angoff

M.D., M.P.H., M.Ed., Associate Dean for Student Affairs

Daniel Barchi

M.E.M, Chief Information Officer for the School of Medicine and Yale New Haven Health System

Linda Bockenstedt

M.D., Director, Faculty Development and Equity

Carrie Capezzone

M.B.A., Associate Dean for Finance

James Comer

M.D., M.P.H., Associate Dean for Student Progress

Anthony Koleske

Ph.D., Director, Combined Program in the Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Michael Ebert

M.D., Associate Dean for Veterans’ Affairs

Rosemarie Fisher

M.D., Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education

John Forrest , Jr

M.D., Director, Office of Student Research

John Gallagher

Interim Director, Medical Library

Susan Gudin

M.B.A, Director of Financial Aid

Janet Hafler

Ed.D., Assistant Dean for Educational Scholarship

Michael Hoepp

Chief of Staff, Office of the Dean

Mary Hu

M.B.A., Director of Institutional Planning and Communications

Anna Maria Hummerstone

M.H.A., Director of Human Resource Services

Barbara Kazmierczak

M.D., Ph.D., Director, M.D./Ph.D. Program

Robert Kanoff

Assistant Dean for Finance and Administration, School of Public Health

Martin Klein

Ph.D., M.P.H., Associate Dean for Development and External Affairs, School of Public Health

Brian Leaderer

Ph.D., M.P.H., Deputy Dean of Public Health

Forrester Lee

M.D., Associate Dean for Multicultural Affairs

Carolyn Mazure

Ph.D., Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Laura Ment

M.D., Associate Dean for Admissions and Financial Aid

Melinda Pettigrew

Ph.D., Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, School of Public Health

Anne Pistell

M.B.A., Associate Dean for Student Affairs, School of Public Health

Sara Rockwell

Ph.D., Associate Dean for Scientific Affairs

Michael Schwartz

Ph.D., Associate Dean for Curriculum

Richard Silverman

Director, Office of Admissions

Jack LeConche

Director of Student Affairs and Senior Registrar

Terri Tolson

Registrar for Student Affairs

Charles Turner

Associate Vice President for Development

Ronald Vender

M.D., Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs

Merle Waxman

M.A., Associate Dean and Ombudsperson, YSM Title IX Coordinator